Brian Eno Announced New Box Set Music For Installations

SYNTH ANATOMY uses affiliation & partner programs (big red buttons) to finance a part of the activity. If you use these, you support the website. Thanks! 

Brian Eno is one of the most important representatives of ambient and experimental music. Recently, he announced a new box set, Music For Installations that features ambient and generative music created for multimedia installations.

This new box set includes recordings from last three decades from installations at the Marble Palace in St. Petersburg, Beijing’s Ritan Park and the Sydney Opera House. Also, it comes with a disc with new recordings: Music For Future Installations.

Music For Installations Tracks

1.  ‘Kazakhstan’

Premiered at the Asif Khan-designed installation ‘We Are Energy’ in the UK Pavilion at Astana Expo 2017 in Kazakhstan.

2 ‘The Ritan Bells’

Premiered at an installation by Eno at Ritan Park in Beijing, China as part of the British Council’s ‘Sound in the City’ series, 2005.

3. ‘Five Light Paintings’

Premiered at an installation by Eno called ‘Pictures Of Venice’ at the Gallerie Cavallino, in Venice, Italy, 1985.

4. ‘Flower Bells’

Premiered at an installation by Eno called ‘Light Music’ at the Castello Svevo in Bari, Italy, 2017.

77 Million Paintings (previously unreleased):

1. ‘77 Million Paintings’

Premiered at the inaugural exhibition of ‘77 Million Paintings’ at La Foret Museum Tokyo, Japan, 2006.

Lightness – Music For The Marble Palace (previously only available as a limited-run CD, via Enostore only):

1. ‘Atmospheric Lightness’
2. ‘Chamber Lightness’
Premiered at the Eno installation ‘Lightness in the Marble Palace’ at The State Russian Museum in St Petersburg, Russia, 1997.

I Dormienti’ / ‘Kite Stories (previously only available as separate limited run CDs, via Enostore only):

1. ‘I Dormienti’
Premiered at an eponymous installation by the Italian sculptor Mimmo Paladino at The Undercroft of The Roundhouse in London, 1999.
2. ‘Kites I’
3. ‘Kites II’
4. ‘Kites III’

Premiered at an installation by Brian Eno at the Kiasma Museum of Contemporary Art in Helsinki, Finland, 1999.

‘Making Space’ (limited-run CD previously only available at Eno installations and on the Lumen website):

1. ‘Needle Click’
2. ‘Light Legs’
3. ‘Flora and Fauna’ / ‘Gleise 581d’
4. ‘New Moons’
5. ‘Vanadium’
6. ‘All The Stars Were Out’
7. ‘Hopeful Timean Intersect’
8. ‘World Without Wind’
9. ‘Delightful Universe (seen from above)’

Compiled by Eno for sale exclusively at his installations, this was first made available while guest artistic director of the Brighton Festival, 2010.

Music For Future Installations (previously unreleased):

1. ‘Unnoticed Planet’
2. ‘Liquidambar’
3. ‘Sour Evening (Complex Heaven 3)’
4. ‘Surbahar Sleeping Music’

Music For Installation will be available on May 4, 2018.

Available here for pre-order: 

CD version 

Vinyl version 


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.