KOMPLETE 12 Announced! Next-Gen Massive X Synth, Kontakt 6 & More!

SYNTH ANATOMY uses affiliation & partner programs (big red buttons) to finance a part of the activity. If you use these, you support the website. Thanks! 

Native Instruments KOMPLETE 12 includes MASSIVE X Synthesizer, KONTAKT 6 sampler, and many new instruments & effects for your music production!

Today is Native Instruments day and YES the leaks of the past weeks are right! KOMPLETE 12 is here and it will contain the next generation MASSIVE Synthesizer as well as KONTAKT (6) sampler. Probably the biggest news is that MASSIVE gets a big update/upgrade. In addition to a complete new modern interface, the engine will be modular with new filters & effects as well as a new performer section. More detailed information will follow in the next months!

KONTAKT 6 has been also further developed in the last months/years and includes now a new wavetable engine, 5 new effects and a new Creator Tools that acts as debugger and instrument editor. To be honest it’s a nice update but I miss more features and a new interface for it. As usual, the new version comes with many other new instruments TRK-01, Session Guitarist – Electric Sunburst...), new effects (CRUSH Pack…) but also sound expansions!

With the release of version 12, NI also extends the range with the ULTIMATE Collector’s Edition, a version that includes 150 products. So we see now after ULTIMATE there is something else! Last but not least, Native Instruments also released a MK2 version of their flagship KOMPLETE Controller S88 with many improvements.

Press Release September 6, 2018, Berlin

Native Instruments announces new pro-grade hardware and software for music production, including the second generation of the KOMPLETE KONTROL S88 keyboard and MASSIVE X – a completely new successor to the much-celebrated synth that spawned subcultures after it was launched 11 years ago.


Since its release in 2003, KOMPLETE has undisputedly become an essential purchase for producers, musicians, and sound designers, by bundling a wide range of innovative and high-quality software instruments and effects at an unbeatable price. Each successive KOMPLETE generation offers artists a jolt of inspiration, and the biggest update ever, KOMPLETE 12, is no exception.

KOMPLETE 12 is available in four differently-sized packages: KOMPLETE 12, SELECT, ULTIMATE, and the new Collector’s Edition – a fifteenth anniversary celebration that packs 150 instruments, effects, and Expansions on to a silver aluminium HDD. New additions include KONTAKT 6, SESSION GUITARIST – ELECTRIC SUNBURST, the innovative kick and bass synth TRK-01, and for the first time ever, Expansions sound packs. KOMPLETE 12 also includes MASSIVE X – an entirely new instrument that honors and expands on the legacy of the legendary MASSIVE Synthesizer.


KONTAKT 6 is the next generation of the world’s leading sampler. Continuing the development from sampler to sampling platform, KONTAKT has evolved into the host for an encyclopedic range of sampled instruments from countless instrument builders. As a platform, KONTAKT supports the whole music production industry, powering the instruments used by composers and producers, and providing a development framework for instrument builders.

For those using KONTAKT mainly as a host for instruments, version 6 expands the on-board library with three new instruments: ANALOG DREAMS invokes legendary synth sounds, ETHEREAL EARTH combines sampled traditional instruments with digital synthesis, and HYBRID KEYS provides a modern digital twist on classic keyboard instruments.

The instruments debut the KONTAKT Play Series – a range of sonically rich sample libraries that combine powerful sound design with simple playability.

For instrument builders and advanced users who work in the edit view, new possibilities for sound design exist thanks to five new effects – three new reverbs, a Replika delay module, and a wah-wah – plus a new wavetable engine. Creator Tools, a standalone application, rounds off the package. Designed to improve the workflows of library builders and instrument creators, it consists of a Debugger and an Instrument Editor.


The new KOMPLETE KONTROL S88 builds upon the acclaimed playability of its predecessor, adding more immersive visual feedback and deeper control for expanded creative possibilities. The fully-weighted, hammer-action Fatar keybed gives an authentic piano-feel, whilst the hi-res color screens and Light Guide provide at-a-glance visual guidance. With pre-mapped control of all KOMPLETE Instruments and Effects and hundreds of NKS plug-ins, intuitive DAW integration, and full VST compatibility, the S88 is the ideal centerpiece for any studio or stage setup.

All S-Series keyboards now include KOMPLETE 12 SELECT and MASCHINE Essentials software.


To say that MASSIVE helped define the sound of electronic music over the last decade would be an understatement. Spawning subcultures and permeating pop sounds globally, the celebrated synth has long been an essential for serious producers, performers, and sound designers of all genres.

In February 2019, NI welcomes MASSIVE X to the stage. With unparalleled signal processing power and a powerful modular approach, this entirely new synthesizer rips up the sound design rulebook to offer unprecedented sonic potential. Created by the same team that built the original, MASSIVE X reimagines what a state-of-the-art sound engine can be, with new subtractive filters, new insert effects, and a new performer for complex sound shaping.

MASSIVE X will be available from February 2019. All KOMPLETE 12, KOMPLETE 12 ULTIMATE, and KOMPLETE 12 ULTIMATE Collector’s Edition owners will see it added to their collections for free.

Native Instruments Komplete 12 (Select, Standard, Ultimate and Ultimate Collector’s Edition) will be available on October 1, 2018. Massive X will be available in February 2019 as a free update for users of KOMPLETE 12 and as single product. KOMPLETE KONTROL S88 will be available on September 27, 2018. The prices are following:

  • KOMPLETE 12 Select: 199 $/€
  • KOMPLETE 12: 599 $/€
  • KOMPLETE 12 Ultimate: $1199$/€
  • KOMPLETE 12 Ultimate Collector’s Edition: 1599 $/€
  • KONTAKT 6: 399€/$, update from KONTAKT 1-5 for 99 $/€

More information here: Native Instruments 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.